As I’ve been playing with DSC I have been running into a few issues on multiple occasions, so thought i would share a few of them to try and help others.

For this post, I wanted to share a quick and easy resolution. In this situation I had created a mof file and when trying to run Start-DscConfiguration I got the error:

The client cannot connect to the destination specified in the request. Verify that the service on the destination is running and is accepting requests. Consult the logs and documentation for the WS-Management service running on the destination, most commonly IIS or WinRM. If the destination is the WinRM service, run the following command on the destination to analyze and configure the WinRM service: “winrm quickconfig”.

Like the picture below:

EnablePsRemoting01

I have found several solutions to this. the most common, is down to not installing KB2883200 patch. Simply install the patch and try again!

The other option I have found is that PSRemoting isn’t enabled. You can check via

Enter-PSSession localhost

If this fails, you simply need to enable PSRemoting.

Enable-PSRemoting

Make sure you running it with Administrator rights!.

It should look below:
EnablePsRemoting02

And now when you try to run Start-DscConfiguration it should run 🙂

EnablePsRemoting03

