EDIT

Its been pointed out that MS does not approve of this method to install SharePoint 2013 SP1. You should instead get the latest media which will come with SP1. The methodology below will work and is approved for adding CU updates into your installs though.

Thanks to @gonsalu for bring it to my attention.

 http://blogs.technet.com/b/stefan_gossner/archive/2014/02/28/sharepoint-2013-with-sp1-quot-slipstream-quot-is-now-available-for-download.aspx

 

As I was building my SharePoint farm this weekend and with the new release of SharePoint 2013 SP1 I thought it was a good time to document how to use Slipstreams.

In my dev environment I have all my ISO’s extracted onto my DC so I can build new boxes easier (and use slipstreams!) To slipstream a new update into the install all you need to do is follow the steps below.

Extract the SharePoint 2013 ISO into a directory (for me this is C:\Software\SharePoint 2013\ )

clip_image001

In the list of folders, note there is one called “updates” open this and you find an informative Read Me file:

clip_image002

Download SharePoint 2013 SP 1 from here: http://www.microsoft.com/en-us/download/details.aspx?id=42008

Now we need to extract the files via running the SP1 in the command prompt and extracting the files to temporary location

officeserversp2013-kb2817429-fullfile-x64-en-us.exe /extract:”C:\Software\SharePoint 2013 Sp1″

clip_image003

This should instantly pop up a new window asking you to except the licensing terms. Tick the box and Select Continue.

clip_image004

Youll then see an extracting process bar

clip_image005

Followed by an Installation is complete.

clip_image006

Click ok go to the location and copy those files to updates folder in your SharePoint install

For me that’s copying everything in C:\Software\SharePoint 2013 SP1

Into C:\SharePOint 2013\updates\

clip_image007

clip_image008

Once its complete. Next time you install, you’ll automatically install SharePoint 2013 SP1 as well. 🙂

