The Right way to delete a User Profile
If you need to delete a user profile, as with most things, there is a right way and wrong way.
The wrong way, would be to just delete the %USERPROFILE% (commonly found in C:\Users or in older OS’s C:\Documents and Settings)
Windows doesn’t just create the profile, it also adds a registry key. If you delete the profile and don’t delete the key as well. The next time the user logs in they will get a notification like below:
The correct way to delete a profile is to remove the %USERPROFILE% and the users registry key.
In regedit you will need to traverse to:
and delete the key with the users SID. To find the users SID you would need to do something like this:
If you’ve had your had your account deleted and login to the message about a temporary profile. You will need to go into the registry and delete your key (If the account has been deleted and then a temporary account created, The original key will have .bak at the end) then login again.
Example of a regedit with a profile that has been deleted and the user is getting a temporary login: